The history of the house dates back to the 12th century. First built in 1180 as Berghof, the Pfarrwirt is considered to be one of the most precious art historical buildings in Vienna. Next to St.Jacobs Church with its Roman basements, the medieval house is situated on a hill and offers an enchanting view over the nearby Danube. Despite numerous reconstructions, the excellently preserved stone portals and windows reveal traces from the 14th century.
The famous “Red Chalk Drawings,” just next to the entrance, date back to the 15th century and are regarded as being of unique quality in Vienna.
In the 17th century, the historic single-storey Berghof was transformed into a Baroque building. Provost Ernest Perger commissioned the decoration of the prelate hall with exquisite stucco work and an oval ceiling painting in 1711. The painting depicts the “Allegory of the Tribute Money” from the New Testament “Render unto God the things that are God’s.”
The impressive wooden veranda was built in 1872 to cultivate Viennese coffeehouse culture and enlarged to the present dimension in 1904, thus testifying gastronomic tradition.
In this way, every room and every dish is accompanied by a small piece of history.
To complement the historic building stock and precious architecture, the individual rooms have been furnished with paintings, art objects and wall tapestries.